The Paris Climate Agreement Includes All 196 Countries Except The United States; Seeks To Limit Global Temperature Rise By Reducing Emissions; Member Countries Set Their Own Targets

 In Environment   Last Updated: March 6, 2018

The Paris Climate Agreement seeks to “strengthen the global response to the threat of climate change by keeping a global temperature rise this century well below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase even further to 1.5 degrees Celsius.

Member countries participate through individual and internal goals, processes, and initiatives, referred to as “nationally determined contributions“.  In other words, this agreement doesn’t specifically note the required actions of each country but rather allows each country to define these limits internally.

Countries will be required to report on progress at a global stocktake every 5 years (starting in 2018).

As of early 2017, the agreement was signed by 195 countries but has only currently been officially ratified by 148.  The only countries not to sign are Syria and Nicaragua.

However, Nicaragua signed the agreement in October and, according to Climate Tracker, Syria has pledged to sign the agreement as of November 7th, 2017.”

President Trump announced the U.S. will withdraw from the Paris Agreements, making the United States the only country not included in this agreement.



The Paris Agreement.” United Nations Framework Convention On Climate Change. United Nations, 01 Feb. 2017. Web. 04 June 2017.
UN, United Nations, UN Treaties, Treaties.” United Nations. United Nations, n.d. Web. 04 June 2017.



ALEXANDRA SIMON-LEWIS. "What is the Paris climate agreement and who has signed it?." Wired, 07 November 2017. Web. 05 March 2018.
Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search