Travel Ban Version 3: Supreme Court Upholds Third Version Of Travel Ban

 In Immigration, Muslims   Last Updated: July 10, 2018

On June 26, 2018 “in a 5-4 ruling that gave broad leeway to presidential authority, the U.S. Supreme Court upheld President Trump’s [third version of the] travel ban that barred nearly all travelers from five mainly Muslim countries as well as North Korea and Venezuela.”

The first version of the travel ban halted refugee admissions and restricted immigrants with any visa status from entering the United States from the following countries: Iraq, Iran, Syria, Somalia, Sudan, Libya, and Yemen.

The second version only restricted new visas for a 90 day period from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen, subject to categorical exceptions and case-by-case waivers” (Iraq was removed from the original list).

The current ban, issued last fall, barred various travelers from eight countries, six of them with Muslim majorities. They are Syria, Libya, Iran, Yemen, Chad, Somalia, North Korea and Venezuela. Restrictions on North Korea and Venezuela were not part of the challenge. Chad was later removed from the list.”

On Monday December 4, 2017 the Supreme Court voted 7-2 to allow President Trump’s third version of a travel ban to proceed without limitation while lower courts deliberate on appeals.



Lawrence Hurley. "Supreme Court lets Trump's latest travel ban go into full effect." Reuters, 04 December 2017. Web. 10 December 2017.
Nina Totenberg and Domenico Montanaro. "In Big Win For White House, Supreme Court Upholds President Trump's Travel Ban." NPR, 26 June 2018. Web. 09 July 2018.
Robert Barnes and Ann E. Marimow. "Supreme Court upholds Trump travel ban." Washington Post, 26 June 2018. Web. 09 July 2018.
Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search