Travel Ban Version 2: Limits To 90 Day Suspension Of Issuing New Visas (Instead Of Banning All Citizens) From Same List Of Specific Countries

 In Executive Orders, Immigration, International Relations   Last Updated: July 10, 2018

On January 27, 2017 Trump issued an executive order prohibiting immigration to the United States by anyone with any visa status from Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen, and suspended the U.S. Refugee Assistance Program for 120 days.

On March 6 2017, Trump issued an executive order revoking his original executive order travel ban and loosening travel restrictions.  This new executive order travel ban imposes “a temporary pause on the entry of nationals from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen, subject to categorical exceptions and case-by-case waivers” (the original list of restricted countries also included Iraq).

Any person with travel documents permitting travel to the United States (i.e. travel visas) that are valid as of the date of the executive order (March 6 2017) will not be affected.  In other words, this executive order issues “a 90-day ban on the issuance of new visas” of the 6 countries listed above (compared to a total unrestricted ban of all travel).

In addition “any individual whose visa was marked revoked or marked canceled as a result of Executive Order 13769 shall be entitled to a travel document confirming that the individual is permitted to travel to the United States and seek entry.”

The new executive order also calls for a comprehensive review of travel and immigration polices, procedures, and screening processes:

The Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Secretary of State and the Director of National Intelligence, shall conduct a worldwide review to identify whether, and if so what, additional information will be needed from each foreign country to adjudicate an application by a national of that country for a visa.

This new executive order also suspends admission of refugees for 120 days, but also limits the total number of refugees admitted annually to 50,000 (the previous annual limit was 120,000).




Trump, Donald. “Executive Order Protecting The Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into The United States.” The White House. The United States Government, 06 Mar. 2017. Web. 14 Mar. 2017.
Zapotosky, Matt, David Nakamura, and Abigail Hauslohner. “Revised Executive Order Bans Travelers from Six Muslim-majority Countries from Getting New Visas.” The Washington Post. WP Company, 06 Mar. 2017. Web. 14 Mar. 2017.

Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search